top of page
  • Writer's pictureEd DiMarco MS, MA

Federal Fair Housing Laws: A Detailed Summary and Compliance Guide with a Focus on Naples, Florida


The Federal Fair Housing Laws were established to prevent discrimination in housing. The main legislation is the Fair Housing Act of 1968, which was later amended in 1988 to include additional protections.

Protected Classes:

The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination based on:

- Race or color

- National origin

- Religion

- Sex

- Familial status (including children under the age of 18 living with parents or legal custodians, pregnant women, and people securing custody of children under 18)

- Disability

Prohibited Practices:

The Act applies to a wide range of housing-related activities, including:

- Selling or renting a house, apartment, or condo

- Setting terms, conditions, or privileges for sale or rental

- Advertising housing

- Providing housing services or facilities

- Mortgage lending

It's illegal to take any of the following actions based on one of the protected categories:

- Refuse to rent or sell housing

- Refuse to negotiate for housing

- Make housing unavailable or deny it

- Set different terms, conditions, or privileges for the sale or rental of a dwelling

- Provide different housing services or facilities

- Falsely deny available housing

- For profit, persuade owners to sell or rent (known as blockbusting)

- Deny anyone access to, membership in, or participation in a service, organization, or facility related to selling or renting housing

Compliance Tips:

1. Training: Ensure all employees, especially those dealing directly with potential tenants or buyers, are trained on the Fair Housing Act and its provisions.

2. Inclusive Advertising: Ensure that property advertisements do not favor or discriminate against any particular group. Phrases like "perfect for a young couple" or "Christian community" can be seen as exclusionary.

3. Standardized Processes: Apply the same set of rules, standards, and procedures for everyone. For instance, having standardized rental applications and a consistent method of determining who qualifies.

4. Reasonable Accommodations: For individuals with disabilities, landlords may need to make reasonable accommodations, like allowing service animals in a pet-free property.

5. Maintain Records: Keep detailed records of all interactions with clients, tenants, and anyone else related to housing transactions. These can be useful if a complaint is ever lodged against you.

Naples, FL Specific Considerations:

Naples, located in Florida, is subject to the state's fair housing regulations in addition to federal laws. The Florida Fair Housing Act mirrors the federal Act but could have specific provisions or interpretations that apply. It's advisable for those in Naples to familiarize themselves with the state's Act and consult local experts or legal counsel for guidance.

Furthermore, Naples' diverse population and role as a significant vacation destination mean that real estate professionals might encounter a wide range of clients from different backgrounds. It's crucial to be particularly vigilant about fair practices and ensure that all potential renters or buyers are treated equally.


The Federal Fair Housing Laws play an essential role in ensuring that all Americans have equal access to housing opportunities. For those in the real estate industry, understanding and adhering to these laws is not only a legal imperative but a moral one. By fostering an environment of inclusivity and fairness, real estate professionals can ensure that they contribute to a just and equitable society.

bottom of page